Abide

A few days ago, I wrote a blog about overwatering. Here in central Florida, we have drought conditions during this time of year. Many of us are tempted to dump gallons of water onto our grass, shrubs and tender plants to keep them green and lush. I noted in that post excessive watering stymies growth.

The same can happen in our Spiritual lives. Often, we give people so much of the Word of God that they become saturated and are unable to process the wisdom presented. These days, I’m learning to strike a balance by sharing a little of the life giving Word of God and following it up with prayer. I’m praying for individual needs and growth in the people I talk or share with. Sure it takes much more time, yet

I’m looking forward to lush green growth in each of their lives.
Often, the Lord asks that we endure difficult situations which will not be resolved in twenty four hours.

When people ask me to pray for them, I’m learning to do what I call placing them in a holding position in my heart. Throughout my day (and night) as I think of them individually, I pray. Are their people in your life you’re “holding” like that? I hope so. We each need watering that come from the prayers of others. It’s during these times of patiently waiting on God that we learn to ABIDE in His presence.

In 1 John 3:6 Jesus tells us that if we abide in Him we don’t sin. He offers a great promise of provision in John 15:7. It states, if we ABIDE in him and His words ABIDE in us, we can ask what we will and it’s done for us!

Henry Francis Lyte wrote a famous hymn in the eighteen hundreds called, Abide with Me. A favorite verse states:

“I need Thy presence every passing hour.
What but Thy grace can foil the tempter’s power power?
Who, like Thyself, my guide and stay can be?
Through cloud and sunshine, Lord abide with me. “

Make sure as you move throughout your days and nights that you are taking time to abide and hold others in your heart.

Leave a Reply

